Zulfiqar Mirza’s group wiped out PPP in Badin LG polls


BADIN: Candidates belonging to the group of Zulfiqar Mirza, the disgruntled former leader of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), won Local Government Elections in all 14 wards of his native Badin District’s municipal committees on Thursday.
The win is seen as the biggest upset for the ruling party in Sindh led by Asif Ali Zardari and his son Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari, who ran a massive election campaign prior to today’s second phase of local bodies elections.
According to unofficial and unverified results, all 14 candidates of Mirza group emerged victorious for the municipal committees’ polls.
PPP candidate and district general secretary, Dr Aziz Memon also suffered defeat at the hand of Mirza’s group, according to unofficial results.
The group also emerged as victorious in Nindo and Taluka Tando Bagho.
In the Golarchi Town Committee, the four candidates supported by PML-N remained successful while two candidates supported by Zulfiqar Mirza group also won.